Don’t Fear COVID-19. Learn to Respect It Like a Surgeon.

Charles Black M.D.
2 min readJan 19, 2021
Image by Charles Black, courtesy of Chuck Black Photography

As a surgeon, I don’t fear COVID-19, but I do respect it. It is the same way that I respect other viral diseases like Hepatitis and HIV. If I feared these illnesses, I would never have entered an occupation that exposed me to them. But, I take the risk seriously and wear gloves, gowns, masks, and safety glasses. I use accepted techniques to keep myself and everyone else in the operating room safe. I got my hepatitis B vaccination and encouraged others to do the same. I don’t fear these illnesses, but I do respect them.

I also respect COVID-19. I have seen how bad this can be. That doesn’t stop me from caring for these patients.It does ensure I use the personal protective gear and got vaccinated.

I don’t want myself or anyone else to be scared by Coronavirus. Fear shuts down the brain’s reasoning capabilities. I do want people to respect a virus that has killed more than 400,000 Americans in one year.

Don’t fear the pandemic, but do respect it like a surgeon. Wear your protective mask, use accepted techniques to limit exposure (social distancing, avoid travel), and get vaccinated when you can.

Originally published at https://chuckbphilosophy.com on January 19, 2021.

--

--

Charles Black M.D.

Dr. Charles Black is a general surgeon, author, photographer, outdoorsman, world traveler and fireside philosopher. Website:https://chuckbphilosophy.com